University of Iceland

University of Iceland

University of Iceland
University of Iceland

The University of Iceland (Icelandic: Háskóli) is an open research college in Reykjavik, Iceland, and is one of the most established and biggest foundations in the nation for advanced education.
Founded in 1911, it has grown steadily with school staff and offering small civil services to a comprehensive and modern university, which provides education to about 14,000 students in twenty five colleges. Which covers various topics in social sciences, humanities, medicine, natural sciences, engineering and education. It has a campus that is centered around Suurgurgata Street in the center of Reykjavik, with additional facilities located in nearby areas as well as in the countryside.


School buildings

The main campus of the university lies to the southwest of Tjörnin in the center of Reykjavik. It covers about 10 hectares. There are about 30 buildings in total, oldest, Gamli Garurur, built in 1934. The main building overlooks the semi-circular garden, to include the Sæmundur fróii statue. In 2007, the new service center was opened next to the main building, and several of the most vital service offices to move there. Some lectures are held in Háskólabíó at the northern end of the campus. There is also a gym. Most of the main campus buildings and neighborhoods are located. College of Sports, Recreation and Education Social Studies, which is located on the other hand in the town of Laugarvatn.

The Library

The University Library was officially established in 1940, until it merged in 1994 with the National Library of Iceland, Landsbókasafn and the Islands to form one large library of the Academy, the National Library and the University of Iceland.

The Hospital

Education and research at the University of Iceland is closely linked with the National University Hospital in Reykjavik. The College of Health Sciences facilities are largely hospital-based.


The University Council is the highest administrative authority within the institution, which consists of the Rector and ten other members, including two students and two members approved by the University Forum. The university forum consists of the president of the university, the heads of the faculty and the different representative and local. It has no executive powers but works with the Council on the overall strategy of the university. It is headed by the management of these academic schools and five faculties by the deans and has great control over the curriculum and management.

Schools and colleges

The University of Iceland is divided into five schools (svi)), which is divided into more than twenty five (deildir) colleges. Prior to 2008, they were divided into eleven colleges, which are divided into skorir sections. There is the largest existing school, the College of Social Sciences with more than 4,700 students.

The University consists of the following faculties:
Faculty of Social Sciences
Faculty of Business and Economics
collage of rights
Faculty of Social Sciences
Faculty of Social Work
Faculty of Political Science
Faculty of Health Sciences
Faculty of medicine
College of Nursing
Faculty of Dentistry
faculty of Pharmacy
College of Food Science and Nutrition
College of Psychology
Faculty of Humanities
College of the fundamentals of religion
Faculty of Language, Literature and Linguistics
Faculty of Icelandic and Comparative Cultural Studies
College of History and Philosophy
Faculty of Education
College of Sports, Recreation and Education Social Studies
teachers College
Faculty of Educational Studies
Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences
College of Industry, Mechanical Engineering and Computer Science
Faculty of Earth Sciences
College of Life and Environmental Sciences
Faculty of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Faculty of Physical Sciences
Faculty of Civil and Environmental Engineering

To connect with the University of Iceland

Read More ...

0 التعليقات:

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.